The Doak Walker Award Watch List was announced this past week and the SEC has six players named out of the field of 52 candidates. 

This award is given to the nation's best college running back as presented by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum. Semifinalists will be named on November 9th and finalists will be chosen on November 19th. The winner will be announced live on December 6th during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. Former NFL and college running backs along with members of the media and select representatives will help choose the winner. 

The six nominees from the SEC are as follows:

  1. Arkansas RB Knile Davis
  2. Alabama RB Eddie Lacy
  3. South Carolina RB Marcus Lattimore
  4. Auburn RB Onterio McCalebb
  5. Texas A&M RB Christine Michael
  6. Vanderbilt RB Zac Stacy

The obvious front-runners from the SEC are Knile Davis and Marcus Lattimore. Both players suffered serious injury in 2011 but looked primed for big years in 2012. Zac Stacy is a very under-rated running back in the SEC who could surprise many. 

It looks like another strong year at the running back position in the SEC in 2012.